Comparison guide · Estimate, not advice
MCAT Prep Cost in 2027: Courses vs DIY, With Official AAMC Prices
Estimate, not advice. Prices change, sales come and go, and your total depends on choices only you can make. Every price below links to the page it came from, with the date we checked it. AAMC fees come from AAMC's own pages; course prices come from each company's own pricing page where it would load, otherwise from a dated third-party page, marked as such.
What AAMC charges
| Fee | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| MCAT registration, standard | $360 | AAMC (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| MCAT registration with Fee Assistance | $145 | AAMC (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| International fee (testing outside the U.S., Canada and U.S. territories), nonrefundable | $130 | AAMC (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
AAMC's Fee Assistance Program lowers the registration fee to the amount above for people who qualify; apply before you register.
Rescheduling and cancelling (2027 test dates)
| When | Reschedule | Cancel: refund | Fee Assistance: reschedule | Fee Assistance: refund |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 60 or more days before | $55 | $180 | $25 | $75 |
| 30 to 59 days before | $110 | $180 | $45 | $75 |
| 10 to 29 days before | $210 | $0 | $85 | $0 |
AAMC official prep
| Product (1 year access) | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Practice Exam 1 and the Unscored Sample Test | $0 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Practice Exams 2 to 6, each | $35 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Section Bank Vol. 1 or Vol. 2, each | $45 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| CARS Question Bank | $70 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Question Packs (Biology 1, Biology 2, Chemistry, Physics), each | $15 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Independent Question Bank | $10 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Online-Only Bundle | $336.70 | AAMC Official Prep store (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
Prep course list prices
| Company | Plan | Price | Access | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kaplan | Entry-level course (lowest listed) | $1,599 (approximate) | not stated on the page | MedLife Mastery (third-party page, page dated 2026-08-20, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Kaplan | Bootcamp | $7,299 (approximate) | not stated on the page | MedLife Mastery (third-party page, page dated 2026-08-20, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Blueprint | Self-Paced MCAT Course | from $1,199 | not stated on the page | Blueprint MCAT courses (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Blueprint | Live Online MCAT Course | from $1,999 | not stated on the page | Blueprint MCAT courses (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Blueprint | 515+ MCAT Course | from $2,999 | not stated on the page | Blueprint MCAT courses (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Princeton Review | MCAT Self-Paced, 6-Month Access | $1,599 | 6 months | Princeton Review (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Princeton Review | MCAT Self-Paced, 12-Month Access | $1,999 | 12 months | Princeton Review (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| UWorld | MCAT QBank, 90-Day | $339 | 90 days | UWorld MCAT (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| UWorld | MCAT QBank, 360-Day (Best Value) | $439 | 360 days | UWorld MCAT (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| UWorld | MCAT Core Prep Course, 90-Day | $599 | 90 days (also 180 days for $649 and 360 days for $699) | UWorld MCAT (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| UWorld | MCAT Comprehensive Prep Course, 90-Day | $1,199 | 90 days (also 180 days for $1,449) | UWorld MCAT (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| UWorld | MCAT Comprehensive Prep Course, 360-Day (Most Popular) | $1,549 | 360 days | UWorld MCAT (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Magoosh | 12 Month Premium | $399 | 12 months | Magoosh plans (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Magoosh | 1 Month Premium | $379 | 1 month | Magoosh plans (own page, checked 2026-10-21) |
| Jack Westin | Complete MCAT course | $1,450 (approximate) | varies by product | TestPrepPal (third-party page, page dated 2026-02-12, checked 2026-10-21) |
Four ways the total can add up
Illustrative totals, computed from the prices above. Estimate, not advice.
| Route | What is included | Total |
|---|---|---|
| Free-resources route | Registration $360 + free AAMC Practice Exam 1 and sample test ($0) | $360 |
| DIY with all AAMC official prep | Registration $360 + Official Prep Online-Only Bundle $336.70 | $696.70 |
| DIY plus a third-party question bank | The row above + UWorld MCAT QBank, 90 days, $339 | $1,035.70 |
| Full prep course | Registration $360 + a full course listed here: from $1,199 to $7,299 (approximate) | from $1,559 to $7,659 (approximate) |
Free help that costs nothing extra: StudyStore's free notes, free practice sets and the 2027 study schedule generator. StudyStore also sells per-category study packs ($12 to $19); they are a supplement to any route above, not a course.
MCAT is a registered trademark of the AAMC, which does not endorse StudyStore or any company listed here.
Free MCAT sampler
Get the free MCAT sampler
We email you free MCAT notes, practice sets and new packs.
Free sampler, no signup needed: 43 study notes with original diagrams and 5-question quizzes, 53 practice sets (482 questions with full explanations) and the 2027 study schedule generator.
Check your email
We sent a link to confirm your address. Nothing else is sent until you click it.
Meanwhile, start with the free notes.